top of page


About Us


Craobh Naomh Mhichíl is nestled at the foot of Tory Hill North West of Manister Abbey. In 1987 three people, Mary Lyons, Nancy Flaherty and Denis Murphy took it upon themselves to establish a branch of Comhaltas in Manister. They got help and advice from the members of the defunct branch in Adare. There were many suggestions before it was agreed to name it after the patron saint of Manister, St. Michael.

There had been music classes under the tuition of Daithí Sims prior to this which then became part of branch activities.


And so, this was the start of the enormous interest in Irish music in the area. Over the years we have benefited from the different teaching styles of several teachers, Willie Larkin, Helen O'Connor and Majella Bartley. Our longest serving and most influential teacher was Siobhán Ní Chonaráin, under whose tutelage we achieved All Ireland standard several years running. We currently have six teachers in the branch covering all instruments. We are lucky that they are all so dedicated to the promotion of the music, and give up a lot of their spare time to the pupils.

The branch has always had a strong tradition in entering Céilí Bands and Grupaí Cheoil at the Fleadh, with mixed results over the years. From the highs of winning All Ireland titles, to the lows of losing out at the county.

The emphasis has always been on the enjoyment if the music and the camaraderie of the branch activities. Concerts, céilithe, pléaracha and scóraíochtanna have been entered into with great enthusiasm. Though based in Manister our members come from a very wide hinterland and we now have over 100 pupils attending every Friday night.


So those seeds sown by Mary, Nancy and Denis in 1987 have bourne fruit in abundance and continue to do so, getting bigger and stronger every year. We are grateful for their foresight with traditional music now an integral part of community life in Manister/Crecora area.



Following our A.G.M on the 15th of January 2021 over Zoom, here is the committee for the coming year.
Chairperson: Mary O’Gorman
Vice-Chairperson: Eileen Kelleher
Secretary: Sarah Lucey
Treasurer: Maire O' Brien
P.R.O.: Niall Carey
County Board Delegates: Niall Carey, Denis Kelleher
Auditor: Gillian Collins

Child Protection Officer(D.L.P.): Hazel Leddin

We’d love to hear from you!

Manister Community Center | Manister | Co. Limerick | | Tel: 087-167-7379

Success! Message received.

bottom of page